René VIERNE (1878-1918)


Œuvres pour orgue et orgue expressif

PBM 56.12-SMF19 12.20/PBM 38.06-SMF19 06.07   2nd edition   Volume I. Pièces pour Grand Orgue 25,00 €

A volume 310 x 225 (portrait format). 48-page.
Preface Brigitte De Leersnyder. Presentation and Editorial notes in French, English.

› Méditation, Prélude grave, Canzona, Intermezzo and the Sept Pièces pour les Vêpres du commun des Saints (the full text of the antiphons has been reproduced, providing the performer with an opportunity of observing R. Vierne’s setting of them), Gavotte after the 2nd Sonata for the violin of J.S. Bach.

This volume includes the full catalogue of the works by R. Vierne, the youngest brother of the organist of Notre-Dame, Louis Vierne.

A kind of miniature compendium, fit for recital and church alike...


Prélude grave

PBM 54.12-SMF19 12.18   Volume II. Hymnes et Versets pour Orgue ou Harmonium 20,00 €

One fascicle 230 x 310 (portrait format). 32-page. Edition N. Bertrand. Presentation in French and English.

Cinq improvisations pouvant servir de Ier Versets de Magnificat ou IIe Interludes de psaumes: N° 1 Allegro maestoso; 2e Allegretto; 3° Adagio; 4e Andantino; 5e Vivace • Interludes de Procession pour l'Hymne Pánge língua: N° 1 Pánge lingua gloriósi; N° 2 Córporis mystérium; N° 3 Sanguinísque pretiósi; N° 4 Frúctus véntris generósi Rex effúdit géntium • Interludes pour l'Hymne Ave Máris stélla: N° 1 Ave Máris stélla; N° 2 Lento sostenuto; N° 3 Maestoso e marcato • Les Vêpres de Pâques: N° 1 Petit carillon; N° 2 1st Interlude; N° 3 2nd Interlude; N° 4 Sortie douce.

Pánge língua. • This hymn was written by St Thomas Aquinas (1225-1274) for the Feast of the Blessed Sacrament. It is sung during the Vespers at the Feast of Corpus Christi. It is also sung on Maundy Thursday, during the procession from the church to the place where the Blessed Sacrament is kept until Good Friday. The last two stanzas, called separately Tántum Ergo, are sung at Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament.
The hymn expresses the doctrine of transubstantiation, in which, according to the Roman Catholic faith, the bread and wine are changed into the Body and Blood of Christ.

Ave máris stélla. • Ave máris stélla is a popular liturgical hymn of unknown origin. It can be dated back to at least the 9th century. Made of seven stropes, it is assigned to Vespers in the Common Office as well as for Feasts of the Blessed Virgin. The first strope of an unrhymed, accentual rythm, is declaimed on one's knees.


PBM 57.13-SMF18 13.21   Volume III. Dix pièces de différents styles pour Harmonium
PBM 57.13-SMF18 13.21   (ou Orgue) (1re Suite) - Toccata
25,00 €

One fascicle 230 x 310 (portrait format). 40-page. Edition N. Bertrand. Presentation in French and English..

› Dix pièces de différents styles: No. 1 Entrée, C major; No. 2 Prélude funèbre, C minor; No. 3 Prière, D b majeur; No. 4 Prélude fugué, C # mineur; No. 4, Prélude fugué, C # mineur (other version); No. 5 Sortie, D major; No. 6 Postlude, D minor; No. 7 Caprice, E b major; No. 8 Absoute, E b minor; No. 9 Pastorale on the Anthem Asperges me, E major; No. 10 Canzona, E minor.

› Toccata, G minor.


No. 4 - Prélude fugué

No. 9 - Pastorale

PBM 58.14-SMF18 14.22   Volume IV. Messe basse op. 8 — Élévation — Trois offertoires op. 10 25,00 €

One fascicle 230 x 310 (portrait format). 36-page. Edition N. Bertrand. Presentation in French and English.

› Messe basse op. 8: No. 1 Entrée, D; No. 2 Offertoire, G major; No. 3 élévation, E minor; No. 4 Communion, A major; No. 4, Sortie, B minor.

› Élévation, B b major.

› Trois offertoires op. 10: No. 1 Offertoire sur un thème breton, B; No. 2 Offertoire sur un thème original, D major; No. 3 Offertoire sur la prose Inviolata, B b major.

In the absence of any manuscript, it can be assumed that René Vierne's Messe basse, published in 1914 — one year after the one authored by his brother Louis — was written around 1902 (while R. Vierne was holding the chancel organ) or, more probably, between 1904 and 1914, the period when he was in charge of the main organ of Notre-Dame des Champs.


Messe basse - I. Entrée

Messe basse - V. Sortie

PBM 59.15-SMF19 15.23   Volume V. Douze pièces de différents caractères 25,00 €

One fascicle 230 x 310 (portrait format). 48-page. Edition N. Bertrand. Presentation in French and English.

No 1. Pastorale in F # major — No 2. Prélude pour une Messe basse in C minor — No 3. Offertoire sur le Kyrie de la Messe du 6ème Ton (H. Du Mont) in F major — No 4. Prière in C # minor — No 5. Intermezzo in D major — No 6. Prélude en forme de canon in B b major — No 7. Noël in A — No 8. Offertoire pour les fêtes de la Ste Vierge in D major — No 9. Cantabile in C major — No 10. Absoute in E — No 11. Épithalame in E b major — No 12. Marche de procession in D major.

The Douze pièces de différents caractères (Twelve parts of various characters) are the third part of the Méthode pour orgue-harmonium (Method for organ-harmonium), published in 1913 by Alphonse Leduc and now unavailable.

In the Foreword, René Vierne writes: “[...] We recommend the theory of J.B. Lemmens, the author of the famous ‘Ecole d'Orgue’ (Organ School) [...]. The 12 Pieces following the theoretical section can be performed on the Great Organ. Organists will find in the registration specified there the general indication of the colours applicable to each piece; we leave it up to their own taste to choose the detail when using a 3- or 4-manuals instrument. Those familiar with the pedal keyboard may use it in some of the pieces to reinforce the bass part. We have not indicated specifically the passages potentially involving the pedal keyboard; the performer shall apply it as needed. R.V.”.



PBM 62.16-SMF19 17.24   Volume VI. Vingt Préludes-Exercices 25,00 €

One fascicle 230 x 310 upright. 44 pages. Edition N. Bertrand. Presentation in French and English.

No. 1. Single substitution, A major — No. 2. Single substitution, E b major — No. 3. Double substitution, E b major — No. 4. Double and triple substitutions, C major — No. 5. Single glide, G minor — No. 6. Single glide and reversed fingering, G major — No. 9. Link between octaves by thumb glide, F major — No. 10. Reversed fingering, A minor — No. 11. Articulations of chords to half of their duration, C # minor — No. 12. Articulated chords, E major — No. 13. Repeated chords under a singing legato line, A minor — No. 14. Linked common notes - Articulation of holded notes in melodic sections, C major — No. 15. On staccato study (right hand), D major — No. 16. On staccato study (left hand), D minor — No. 17. On melodic Ornaments, D major — No. 18. On Articulation, F major — No. 19. On Expression use, D major — No. 20. On Expression use, E b major.

The Vingt Préludes-Exercices are the first part of the Méthode pour orgue-harmonium (Method for organ-harmonium), published in 1913 by Alphonse Leduc and now unavailable.

In the foreword of the Method, René Vierne writes: “This method is designed for people who already have some practice of the piano [...] and can be used without any suppression or addition for the study of the manual keyboards of the the pipe organ.”


No. 13 — Accords répétés sous un chant lié

No. 20 — Pour l'emploi de l'Expression

In progress:

Deux motets pour chœur à 4 voix mixtes et orgue

* Rates from January 1st, 2016